• Home
  • Awards and Recognition

Click here for the Member of the Year award nomination form
Deadline is 11/30 of each year

ASHRM is an Award winning chapter

The Anchorage Society of Human Resource Management is an award winning chapter and we are proud of what we have accomplished over the years! 

We are one of a handful of chapters in the United States that have received SHRM’s national Pinnacle Award not once, but FIVE times for outstanding achievement in chapter development and contributions to the advancement of effective human resource management. We have also been recognized at the regional level by the Northwest HR Management Association (NHRMA) for successful programs and individual member contributions to the profession over the years.

We consistently receive SHRM recognitions for our support of SHRM programs, including but not limited to:

  • SHAPE (SHRM Affiliate Program for Excellence)
  • EXCEL Award – Platinum
  • SHRM Foundation Champion
  • Membership Super Star
  • SHRM Learning System Champion



SHRM'S National Pinnacle Award

The SHRM Pinnacle Awards Program is an annual recognition program honoring the highest achievements in affiliate development and contributions that enhance the development of effective human resource management. 

  • 2021 Supporting Students Joining the Workforce: Partnering with Anchorage School District’s Career READY Program
  • 2013 ASHRM: The Last (Recertification) Frontier  
  • 2007 ASHRM’s Partnership with Mayor’s Diversity Week
  • 2002 HR & Order
  • 1998 HRCI Certification Study Group

Ron fraze aSHRM Member of the year award


The Ron Fraze ASHRM Member of the Year Award recognizes an individual member of ASHRM for her or his outstanding contributions, leadership and achievements in service to the Human Resources profession. Congratulations to the follow award recipients:

  • 2023 - Shiela Harbrige, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
  • 2022  - Patty Hickok, SPHR, GPHR, SHRM-SCP
  • 2021 - Molly Webb
  • 2020 - Sharon Boegel; Sarah Johnson
  • 2019 - Dionne Tennant
  • 2018 - Renea Saade
  • 2017 - Sharon Boegel
  • 2016 - Shara Lyman; Heather Kinzie
  • 2015 - Ann Flister, SPHR, SHRM-CP
  • 2014 - Sandi Weber, PHR
  • 2013 - Nancy Miller, SPHR
  • 2012 - Dave Rhodes
  • 2010 - Bonnie Dorman
  • 2009 - Darci Ahlien Stern, PHR
  • 2005 - Peggy O'Keefe

  • 2004 - Christine Hopkins (McAlpine), SPHR, GPHR
  • 2003 - Lisa Derrickson                   
  • 2002 - Bosco Baldwin, SPHR 
 This award honors Ron Fraze. Ron was ASHRM's President in 1992 and was part of the driving force in the early years of the chapter that helped build the foundation for our ongoing success.

NHRMA'S Randy Lundberg Northern Lights Awards

This award recognizes Association Chapters for outstanding achievement and excellence in overall chapter programming and operations. This award is named for NHRMA Awards and Recognition Director Randy Lundberg, a member of the Rogue Valley Chapter, who was designing an award to recognize NHRMA Chapter Achievements at the time of his death in 1994.

  • 2022 ASHRM-Anchorage School District Career READY Program Partnership
  • 2018 Prisoner Re-Entry Program Partnership
  • 2012 A Multi-Agency Partnership at Work
  • 2010 The Last HRCI Re-certification Frontier
  • 2008 ASHRM Partnership with the Municipality of Anchorage’s “Mayor’s Diversity Month”
  • 2004 Transition Assistance Program (TAP)
  • 1996 Outstanding Chapter Operations

Community Recognitions

  • 2022 Anchorage School District

NHRMA's Distinguished member award

This award is intended to be a “HUMAN RESOURCES PROFESSION ACHIEVEMENT AWARD” to individuals who have provided exceptional service to the profession over a period of years.

  • 2023  Patty Hickok, SPHR, GPHR, SHRM-SCP
  • 2019 Renee Saade
  • 2018 Nancy Miller, SPHR, SHRM-SCP 
  • 2018 Dr. David Rambow 
  • 2017 Patty Billingsley, SPHR, SHRM-SCP 
  • 2016 Patty Hickok, SPHR, GPHR, SHRM-SCP
  • 2011 Patty Hickok, SPHR, GPHR 
  • 2010 Louis M. Christie, SPHR 
  • Todd Allen, SPHR, CCP (year not available)
  • 2008 Mary Tesch, SPHR 
  • 2003 Kristi Acuff, SPHR 
  • 1998 Arve Solomon
  • 1996 Ronald Fraze, SPHR 
  • James Jose, Ph.D., SPHR (year not available)

NHRMA's Robert W. Denomy Award for Student Leadership

This award recognizes undergraduate students who have performed outstanding service to the HR profession and to the Association, in the best tradition of Bob Denomy, who provided significant support to the development and growth of student HRM programs in the Pacific Northwest.

  • 2014 Rachel Saddler, Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage
  • 2013 Brittany Sogge, Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage
  • 2011 Julie Drinnen, Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage
  • 2010 Bonnie Dorman, Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage
  • 2003 Patty Hickok, University of Alaska Anchorage Student Chapter, Anchorage

NHRMA's Sharon Koss Graduate Student Award

This award recognizes one graduate student who has performed outstanding service to the HR profession and to the Association, in the best tradition of Sharon Koss.  Sharon Koss was passionate about developing HR Professionals through continuing education to advance the profession in the Pacific Northwest.  

  • 2022, Penny Mosher, Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage
  • 2022, Walter Williams, Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage
  • 2018 Brett Smith, Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage
  • 2013 Rachel Saddler, Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage

Northwest Human Resource Management Association (NHRMA) 

NHRMA hosts an annual conference and tradeshow, as well as a Human Resources Academy which is approved for HRCI credits. Please see the NHRMA website  for more information.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software